Wednesday, February 24, 2016

Add Fort Atkinson to the list of municipalities assessing a wheel tax

New Fort wheel tax assessed.  (Daily Union, 2/22/2016)
On November 2015, Fort Atkinson became the tenth Wisconsin municipality to institute a municipal vehicle registration fee to assist in keeping the city streets in good shape. Commonly referred to as a wheel tax, it is paid on top of the $75 annual vehicle registration fee paid to the state. By Wisconsin statute, the money only can be spent on transportation needs.

Three counties currently charge a wheel tax:
  • Chippewa - $10
  • Iowa - $20
  • St. Croix = $10

Related posts:
Sheboygan Common Council wheel tax vote: The yeas, the nays & the chickenshits.  (10/14/2015)
Sheboygan Council Vice-President tells his colleagues not to pee their pants at upcoming Committee of the Whole meeting.  (10/11/2015)
Sheboygan Common Council ponders an annual $20 wheel tax.  (8/25/2015)
Janesville becomes 5th community to impose a wheel tax.  (12/1/2011)
Three Dane County supervisors propose wheel tax.  (11/9/2011;  it didn't fly.)
Hudson lawmaker puts his finger on Janesville's pulse.  (10/20/2011)
Mayville retains its wheel tax.  (10/13/2011)
Wheel tax proposed in Janesville.  (10/12/2011)

No comments: