Friday, June 22, 2012

Who's Running for State Office in Wisconsin 2010: 11th Assembly District

Public libraries in the 11th District
Milwaukee Public Library (Mill Road Library)

The Democratic Incumbent
Biography. Born Milwaukee, January 29, 1974; single.

Graduate Milwaukee Lutheran H.S. 1992.

Former stockbroker, financial advisor, banker. Member: Prince Hall Masonic Lodge No. 4; Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.; Milwaukee Urban League Young Professionals; National Association of Insurance and Financial Advisors; National Association of Black Accountants.

Member: Democratic Party of Wisconsin (fmr. Chairman of 4th Congressional District); Milwaukee County Democrats (fmr. 2nd District vice chairman); YPM (Young Professionals of Milwaukee).

Elected to Assembly 2004; reelected since 2006.  (He was unopposed in the 2010 Democratic primary and November general election.)

WI State Representative Jason Fields shares his passion for improving education with technology and how future thinking technology policy is necessary for job creation and economic growth.

The Democratic Challenger

Mandela Barnes announces candidacy for State Assembly 11th District. (Milwaukee Courier, 4/14/2012)

Excerpt: Barnes also spoke about his passion for a better Milwaukee, he stated that he would go to serve on the State Assembly and represent the interests of the 11th district, not others’ interests. 

“The state cannot move forward with a broken Milwaukee. Milwaukee is broken, and that is where my focus would be, fixing Milwaukee. There is a huge problem that exists, when we have a $600 million construction project going on in our community (Westlawn) and we do not have any local construction workers working on it. We have no access, and no one can tell us why…that is a problem. And those are the type of solutions that I would work toward.” Barnes said.

Related posts:
Assembly District 1.
Assembly District 2.
Assembly District 3.
Assembly District 4.
Assembly District 5.
Assembly District 6.
Assembly District 7.
Assembly District 8.
Assembly District 9.
Assembly District 10.

No comments: