Sunday, November 27, 2016

UPDATE. 5th Wisconsin Assembly District: GOP incumbent Jim Steineke defeats Dem challenger Sam Kelly

Margin of victory (percentage points)
AD1.  20.2
AD2.  38.8
AD3.  21.2
AD4.  19.4
AD5.  29.2

Robin Vos, Jim Steineke to lead historically large Assembly GOP majority in 2017.  (Wisconsin State Journal, 11/14/2016)
Steineke, R-Kaukauna, was one of Wisconsin’s most prominent GOP voices against President-elect Donald Trump during the campaign. He was re-elected to his leadership post, fending off a challenge from Rep. Kevin Petersen, R-Waupaca.

Other election updates:
1st Assembly District.  (11/27/2016)
2nd Assembly District.  (11/27/2016)
3rd Assembly District.  (11/27/2016)
4th Assembly District.  (11/27/2016)

8/22/2016 update "GOP incumbent Jim Steineke vs. Democratic challenger Sam Kelly in 5th Wisconsin Assembly District", starts here.

Campaign websites:
Jim Steineke for Assembly
Sam Kelly for Assembly

Apparently, the Appleton Post-Crescent has no interest in this election.

11/7/2014 update, "We have a winner!", starts here.

In their 2010 match-up, Steineke defeated McCabe 16,117 to 12,709.  The difference in 2012 and 2014 vote totals provides us with another chapter in The Case of the Quadrennial Democrats

Steineke stays seated in 5th Assembly District.  (Appleton Post Crescent, 11/5/2014)

Fearless Leader's agenda.

[The original post begins here.]

Two Kaukauna residents are running for this seat:
  • 2-term Republican incumbent and Assistant Majority Leader Jim Steineke  
  • Democratic challenger and former Kaukauna Area School Board president Jeff McCabe.

Jim Steineke, Republican incumbent

Jeff McCabe, Democratic challenger

5th Assembly District

Public libraries in the 5th Assembly District

Other 2016 updates:
6 years later, Andre Jacque comfortably ensconced in Wisconsin State Assembly.  (7/11/2016)
Three State Assembly representatives from Milwaukee running for re-election unopposed in 2016.  (7/12/2016)
State Assembly races: 3 suburban Milwaukee Republicans running unopposed.  (7/19/2016)
Wisconsin State Assembly incumbents Mursau, Ballweg, Schraa running unopposed this fall.  (7/25/2016)
Rock County Wisconsin Assembly incumbents Kolste, Spreitzer running unopposed in fall election.  (7/26/2016)
Zamarripa beats Manriquez for 4th time in 8th Wisconsin Assembly District Dem primary.  (8/10/2016)
Incumbent Zepnick survives challenge in 9th Wisconsin Assembly District Dem primary.  (8/10/2016)
Self-proclaimed "I'm not perfect" candidate wins 11th Wisconsin Assembly District Dem primary.  (8/10/2016)
With primary win, Leon Young will serve 13th term in 16th Wisconsin Assembly District.  (8/10/2016)
David Crowley wins open-seat 17th District Wisconsin Assembly Dem primary.  (8/10/2016)
Sinicki easily survives challenge in 20th Wisconsin Assembly District Dem primary.  (8/10/2016)
Wisconsin State Assembly 21st Wisconsin Assembly District Dem primary winner to face Jessie Rodriguez in November.  (8/10/2016)
Rebecca Clarke easily wins Democratic primary in 26th Wisconsin Assembly district.  (8/11/2016)
1 blowout, 1 close race in 29th Wisconsin State Assembly District partisan primaries.  (8/11/2016)
Shannon Zimmerman wins 30th Wisconsin Assembly District GOP primary, promises to move there.  (8/11/2016)
College student wins 31st Wisconsin Assembly District Democratic primary.  (8/11/2016)
Bernie backer gets shellacked in 34th Wisconsin Assembly Democratic primary.  (8/11/2016)
Renea Frederick wins 35th Wisconsin Assembly District Democratic primary.  (8/12/2016)
Candidate who dropped out of 38th Wisconsin Assembly District Dem primary still receives 30% of vote.  (8/12/2016)
Don Vruwink wins 43rd Wisconsin Assembly District Democratic primary election.  (8/12/2016)
Jimmy Anderson wins 3-way primary in 47th Wisconsin Assembly District.  (8/13/2016)
Art Shrader easily wins 50th Wisconsin Assembly District Democratic primary.  (8/13/2016)
It's Dennis Hunt vs. Rob Summerfield in 67th Wisconsin Assembly District fall general election.  (8/14/2016)
David Gorski beats Russ Brown in 72nd Wisconsin Assembly District Democratic primary.  (8/14/2016)
Feel the Bern: Wischmeier gets singed in challenge to Hillary supporter and 78th Wisconsin Assembly District incumbent Lisa Subeck.  (8/15/2016)
Sondy Pope easily dispatches faux Democrat in 80th Wisconsin Assembly District primary.  (8/17/2016)
With no Dem in fall election, Chuck Wichgers wins 83rd Wisconsin Assembly seat in GOP primary.  (8/17/2016)
John Spiros-Nancy Stencil rematch in 86th Wisconsin Assembly District.  (8/19/2016)
Mondovi mayor wins 92nd Wisconsin Assembly District primary in low-turnout election.  (8/19/2016)
Lena Taylor easily withstands Mandela Barnes challenge in 4th Wisconsin Senate District.  (8/21/2016)
It's Mark Harris vs. Dan Feyen in 18th Wisconsin Senate District November election.  (8/21/2016)
Both Jen Shilling and Dan Kapanke win big in 32nd Wisconsin Senate District primaries,  (8/21/2016)

No comments: