Sunday, August 21, 2016

UPDATE. Lena Taylor easily withstands Mandela Barnes challenge in 4th Wisconsin Senate District

Related articles:
Bice:  Winners, losers from primary.  (Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, 8/11/2016)
Chris Larson — loser: The Milwaukee senator had been the king of the Democratic primary, putting up candidates who could knock off vulnerable candidates who were deemed not sufficiently progressive. But this time, Larson backed at least three candidates — Barnes, Marisabel Cabrera and Darrol Gibson — who all came up short. What's more, Larson's political nemesis, Lena Taylor, will be around for another four years, making for more interesting exchanges between the pair. 

Taylor easily defeats Bartnes in primary.  (Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, 8/9/2016)
Barnes announced in March that he would vacate his Assembly seat to challenge Taylor. In doing so, Barnes sought to present himself as a more outspoken and progressive advocate than Taylor, homing in on the two issues where they diverge: gun control and education. Barnes has vocally criticized voucher schools and advocated for the community schools model, and called for greater gun control.

“Tell the whole truth:” Fliers cause controversy between Lena Taylor, Mandela Barnes on eve of primary election.   (Fox6now, 8/8/2016)
"I understand desperation. I understand, but when you want to lead, you should not be lying to the people," Taylor said. 
There were two offending lines on the flier that Barnes sent out. The first reads: "Lena voted with Scott Walker to put more guns on Milwaukee Streets."

Original 7/4/2016 post, "Who's running for state office in Wisconsin 2016 (The primary edition:  4th Senate District)", starts here.

2-term Assembly Representative Mandela Barnes (D-Milwaukee) is challenging 3-term State Senator Lena Taylor (D-Milwaukee). 

The winner will run unopposed in the November 8th general election.

Campaign/legislative websites

4th Senate District

Related articles:
Lena Taylor, Mandela Barnes face off in closely watched race.  (Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, 7/3/2016)
Taylor was elected to the 4th Senate District in 2004 and has never before faced a primary challenge. During much of her tenure, Taylor has served on the budget-writing Joint Finance Committee, giving her a chance to help secure funding for her district. 
Barnes was elected to the Assembly in 2012 and was the chairman of the Legislature's black and Latino caucus. In his first two races, he ran on a platform centered on reforming public education. This race puts Barnes in an up-or-out position — elected officials in Wisconsin cannot run for two state offices simultaneously.
Rep. Mandela Barnes to challenge Lena Taylor for Senate seat.  (Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, 4/11/2016)

32nd Senate District.  (7/6/2016)
UPDATE: 6 years later, Andre Jacque comfortably ensconced in Wisconsin State Assembly.  (7/11/2016)
Three State Assembly representatives from Milwaukee running for re-election unopposed in 2016.  (7/12/2016)
State Assembly races: 3 suburban Milwaukee Republicans running unopposed.  (7/19/2016)
Wisconsin State Assembly incumbents Mursau, Ballweg, Schraa running unopposed this fall.  (7/25/2016)
Rock County Wisconsin Assembly incumbents Kolste, Spreitzer running unopposed in fall election.  (7/26/2016)
UPDATE: Nonresident Ron Tusler wins Wisconsin State Assembly 3rd District GOP primary.  (8/10/2016)
UPDATE: Zamarripa beats Manriquez for 4th time in Wisconsin State Assembly 8th District Dem primary.  (8/10/2016)
UPDATE: Incumbent Zepnick survives challenge in Wisconsin State Assembly 9th District Dem primary.  (8/10/2016)
UPDATE: Self-proclaimed "I'm not perfect" candidate wins Wisconsin State Assembly 11th District Dem primary.  (8/10/2016)
UPDATE: With 16th District primary win, Leon Young will serve 13th term in Wisconsin State Assembly.  (8/10/2016)
UPDATE: David Crowley wins open-seat 17th District Wisconsin State Assembly Dem primary.  (8/10/2016)
UPDATE: Sinicki easily survives challenge in Wisconsin State Assembly 20th District Dem primary.  (8/10/2016)
UPDATE: Wisconsin State Assembly 21st Assembly District Dem primary winner to face Jessie Rodriguez in November.  (8/10/2016)
UPDATE: Rebecca Clarke easily wins Democratic primary in 26th Wisconsin State Assembly district.  (8/11/2016)
UPDATE: 1 blowout, 1 close race in Wisconsin State Assembly 29th District partisan primaries.  (8/11/2016)
UPDATE: Shannon Zimmerman wins Wisconsin Assembly District 30 GOP primary, promises to move there.  (8/11/2016)
UPDATE: College student wins Wisconsin Assembly 31st District Democratic primary.  (8/11/2016)
UPDATE: Bernie backer gets shellacked in Wisconsin Northwoods Assembly Democratic primary.  (8/11/2016)
UPDATE: Renea Frederick wins Wisconsin Assembly 35th District Democratic primary.  (8/12/2016)
UPDATE: Candidate who dropped out of Wisconsin Assembly 38th District Dem primary still receives 30% of vote.  (8/12/2016)
UPDATE: Don Vruwink wins Wisconsin Assembly 43th District Democratic primary election.  (8/12/2016)
UPDATE. Jimmy Anderson wins 3-way primary in 47th Wisconsin Assembly District.  (8/13/2016)
UPDATE: Art Shrader easily wins 50th Wisconsin Assembly District Democratic primary.  (8/13/2016)
UPDATE. It's Dennis Hunt vs. Rob Summerfield in Wisconsin's 67th Assembly District fall general election.  (8/14/2016)
UPDATE.  David Gorski beats Russ Brown in Wisconsin's 72nd Assembly District Democratic primary.  (8/14/2016)
UPDATE. Feel the Bern: Wischmeier gets singed in challenge to Hillary supporter and 78AD incumbent Lisa Subeck.  (8/15/2016)
UPDATE. Sondy Pope easily dispatches faux Democrat in 80th Wisconsin Assembly District primary.  (8/17/2016)
UPDATE. With no Dem in fall election, Chuck Wichgers wins 83rd Wisconsin Assembly seat in GOP primary.  (8/17/2016)
UPDATE. John Spiros-Nancy Stencil rematch in 86th Wisconsin Assembly District.  (8/19/2016)
UPDATE. Mondovi mayor wins 92nd Wisconsin Assembly District primary in low-turnout election.  (8/19/2016)
UPDATE. Lena Taylor easily withstands Mandela Barnes challenge in 4th Wisconsin Senate District.  (8/21/2016)

No comments: