Wednesday, December 6, 2023

2024 elections: Who will run in California's 20th congressional district now that now Kevin McCarthy is resigning at the end of the year

The redistricted 20th includes parts of Kern, Tulare, Kings, and Fresno counties, as well as the southern Sierra Nevadas and western Mojave Desert. Cities in the district include Clovis, Tehachapi, Ridgecrest, Taft, Lemoore, the west and northeast sides of Bakersfield, the south side of Visalia, the northeast side of Tulare, the north side of Hanford, and a sliver of northeastern Fresno including California State University, Fresno. The district is the most Republican district in California, according to the Cook Partisan Voting Index.

Source:  Ballotpedia

His announcement capped a stunning end for the one-time deli owner from Bakersfield, who ascended through state and national politics to become second in line to the presidency before a contingent of hard-right conservatives engineered his removal in October. 
McCarthy is the only speaker in history to be voted out of the job. 
“No matter the odds, or personal cost, we did the right thing," McCarthy wrote in an op-ed in the Wall Street Journal, announcing his decision. 
“It is in this spirit that I have decided to depart the House at the end of this year to serve America in new ways,” he wrote. Recommended for you…

This is what gerrymandering looks like in California, packing and cracking Fresno and Bakersfield.  (With excuses offered as to why this design is in place.)

Hats in the ring already for the nonpartisan primary next year.  (Screenshot from same Ballotpedia link as above.)

Other dropouts:
Debbie Lesko, AZ-8.  (11/28/2023)
Ken Buck, CO-4.  (11/28/2023)
Victoria Spartz, IN-5.  (11/28/2023)
Dan Bishop, NC-8.  (12/5/2023)
Patrick McHenry., NC-10.  (12/5/2023)
Brad Wenstrup, OH-2.  (12/1/2023)
Bill Johnson., OH-6.  (12/1/2023)
Kay Granger, TX-12.  (12/1/2023) 
Michael Burgess, TX-26.  (12/2/2023)
Chris Stewart, UT-2.  (12/2/2023)

Anna Eshoo, CA-16.  (11/29/2023)
Tony Cardenas, CA-29.  (11/29/2023)
Grace Napolitano, CA-31.  (11/29/2023)
John Sarbanes, MD-3.  (11/30/2023)
John Sarbanes, MI-8.  (11/30/2023)
Brian Higgins, NY-26.  (11/30/2023)
Earl Blumenauer, OR-3.  (12/3/2023)
Jennifer Wexton, VA-10.  (12/3/2023)
Derek Kilmer, WA-6.  (12/3/2023)

No comments: