Sunday, December 3, 2023

2024 elections: Who will run in Virginia's 10th congressional district now that Democrat Jennifer Wexton is not running for re-election

Virginia's 10th congressional district is located west of Washington D.C. and  includes all of Rappahannock County, Fauquier County, and Loudoun County, parts of Fairfax County and Prince William County, as well as the independent cities of Manassas and Manassas Park. The district closely matches Virginia's voting patterns in statewide races with nearly identical margins as the final statewide.

Source:  Ballotpedia

CNN, 9/18/2023
Wexton was first elected to her northern Virginia congressional district in 2018, when she was a part of the freshman class that helped Democrats retake control of the House. In that 2018 election, Wexton flipped her district blue when she defeated then-GOP Rep. Barbara Comstock. Wexton is a member of the Appropriations and Budget committees. 
Prior to being elected to Congress, Wexton was a member of the Virginia state Senate and was a judge and assistant commonwealth attorney. Wexton won reelection in 2022 by 6.4 percentage points and Biden would have carried the congressional district by 18 percentage points in 2020. However, without an incumbent, the district could be more competitive in 2024.

At this point, 8 Democrats and no Republicans have announced their intention to run.  (Screenshot is from same Ballotpedia link as above.)

Other dropouts:
Debbie Lesko. R, AZ-8.  (11/28/2023
Anna Eshoo.  D, CA-16.  (11/29/2023)
Ken Buck.  R,CO-4.  (1128//2023)
John Sarbanes.  D, MD-3.  (11/30/2023)
John Sarbanes.  D, MI-8.  (11/30/2023)
Kay Granger.  R, TX-12.  (12/1/2023) 

No comments: