Tuesday, February 2, 2016

Who will run in Wisconsin's 8th Congressional District now that Reid Ribble is retiring?

Photo credit:  Outagamie County

Nelson, a Democrat, served in the Wisconsin State Assembly from 2005 to 2010.

Photo credit:  Wisconsin State Legislature

Weininger, a Republican, served in the Wisconsin State Assembly from 2011 to 2014.

Not running:
  • Assembly Majority Leader Jim Steineke (R-Kaukauna)
  • Rep. Eric Genrich (D-Green Bay)
  • State Sen. Dave Hansen (D-Green Bay)
  • Former U.S Rep. Steve Kagen
No comment:
  • State Sen. Roger Roth (R-Appleton)
  • State Sen. Rob Cowles (R-Allouez)
  • State Sen. Frank Lasee (R-De Pere)

All of the above as quoted or reported in Scramble begins after Rep. Reid Ribble decides not to seek re-election.  (Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, 2/2/2016)

Related reading:

What One House GOP Retirement May Say About the Future.  (Roll Call, 2/2/2016)
Just below the surface, though, Ribble’s decision to abandon the congressional seat for northeastern Wisconsin looks like a canary in the coal mine’s warning about the future of the GOP.  

Related post:

No comments: