Thursday, December 19, 2013

It Doesn't Quite Add Up

Eliminating the state income tax could mean paying higher sales tax.  (WFRV, 12/18/2013)

Wisconsin wouldn’t be the only state to do this— nine states don’t have a state income tax but they make up the difference elsewhere.

Those states include
  1. Alaska
  2. Florida
  3. Nevada
  4. New Hampshire
  5. South Dakota
  6. Texas
  7. Washington
  8. Wyoming
The 9th state is Tennessee, although both it and New Hampshire deserve asterisks because they tax their residents' dividend and interest income.  

But if you want to get in on the discussion, you have to be invited.

Which is why I made this update on the Lt. Gov's homepage.

Related post:

No comments: