Friday, December 12, 2014

1959, the Year in Review: Africa

New Nations of Africa.

Cameroon.  Previously known as French Cameroon.  Gained independence on January 1, 1960

Togoland.  (Togo.)  After World War II, it was a United Nations trust territory administered by the French government.  Gained independence on April 27, 1960.

Somalia.  As the Italian Trust Territory of Somalia, on July 1, 1960.

Nigeria.  Given increased control over internal affairs in 1959.  Gained complete independence from Great Britain on October 1, 1960.

My guess is that all of us in Mrs. Carlson's 4th grade class at Jefferson School were oblivious to these goings-on.

Related posts:
Advertising.  (12/7/2014)
Afghanistan.  (12/7/2014)

No comments: