Thursday, November 21, 2013

Wisconsin Assembly District 69 Special Election: An Easy Win for Republican Bob Kulp

Kulp wins special election for 69th Assembly District. (Marshfield News-Herald, 11/19/2013)

Excerpt: Democrats have been espousing their 72-county strategy leading up to next year’s elections, but it seemed to have been absent in this campaign. 

Besides two donations from the county parties, Slezak received little financial or campaign support from the state party, and was essentially left to his own devices during the campaign.

Three paragraphs earlier, reporter Logan T. Carlson noted that the Democrats haven't come within 10 percentage points of winning the 69th Assembly District in 21 years.

And the last time they won the district was 33 years ago, with Richard Shoemaker's re-election.

Legislators who have represented the 69th since 1967:
  • Scott Suder (1999-2013)
  • Robert Zukowski (1993-1998)
  • Heron "Pink" Van Gorden (1983-1992)
  • Richard A. Shoemaker (1979-1982)
  • La Verne Ausman (1975-1978)
  • Alvin Baldus (1967-1974)
Republicans 35, Democrats 12.

Current boundaries of the 69th

Public libraries in the 69th Assembly District

Related posts:
October 22nd Primary in Wisconsin's 69th Assembly District.  (10/21/2013)
Who's Running for Scott Suder's Assembly Seat (69th District).  (9/25/2013)

No comments: